Dunkin'
Limited-Service Restaurants
What the disclosure document says
From the 2026 filing in MN. Values the franchisor did not state are shown as “Not disclosed” rather than estimated.
- Initial franchise fee
- $40,000
- Total investment
- $532,400 – $1,832,500
- Royalty
- 5.9%
- Ad / brand fund
- 5.0%
- Item 19 financial performance
- Disclosed
- Average revenue per outlet
- $1,372,069
An average, and the filing reports no distribution behind it — so it cannot tell you how many outlets earn less.
- Franchised outlets
- 8,465 → 8,744 (+279)
- Terminations in the year
- 2
What it costs to stay
The initial franchise fee is paid once. Everything below is owed for as long as the agreement runs, on revenue rather than on profit.
If you take $1,000,000
$109,340
10.9% of your revenue, every year
If you take $500,000
$54,840
11.0% of your revenue, every year
Both revenues are applied to every brand so the rates can be compared. Neither is this brand’s revenue and no filing here claims either. At the $1,372,069 average this filing does report, the same fees come to $149,895 a year.
| Fee | Rate | On $1,000,000a year | On $500,000a year |
|---|---|---|---|
| RoyaltyCharged on revenue, not profit — it is owed in a year the outlet loses money.report | 5.90% | $59,000 | $29,500 |
| Brand / ad fundSpent by the franchisor across the system. Item 11 says what it may go on; none of it is your own local advertising.report | 5.00% | $50,000 | $25,000 |
| Fixed — charged whatever you earn | |||
| The Center Annual Subscription FeeCurrently, $340 per Restaurantreport | $28/mo | $340 | $340 |
| Total — at least | 10.90% | $109,340 | $54,840 |
| Share of your revenueWhat the percentages and the fixed fees come to together. | 10.9% | 11.0% | |
What that total does not include
- 10 fees that state no amount — Inspire Payment Services, Taxes, Late Fee and Interest, Renewal Fee, Relocation Fee, Insurance, Indemnification, Transfer Fee (After First 3 Years of Operation), Enforcement Expenses, Lease Costs. Item 6 gives these as “as incurred” or “will vary”. Real obligations with no number, and nothing here estimates one.
- What you must spend but never hand over. Item 6 requires insurance. A real cost, and not money the franchisor receives, so it is in neither column.
- A percentage we would not add. Item 6 states Continuing Advertising Fee ("CAF") at 2.50%, Loyalty Program Contribution Payment at 1.40%, which neither the royalty nor the brand-fund field covers. Named rather than added, because the table alone cannot tell us whether it restates a fee already counted.
- What your suppliers pay them. Item 8 discloses that this franchisor receives payments from the suppliers you are required to buy from. A second income stream off your revenue, in no fee table. The filing states that it happens, not how much, and neither will we.
Against the $40,000 franchise fee
3 months of ongoing fees equals the whole franchise fee, at the revenue this filing reports.
- Paid once, at signing
- $40,000
- Paid over the 20-year termItem 17 states the term. At today’s revenue, before any growth and before any rise Item 6 permits.
- $2,997,910
The fee everyone negotiates over is 1% of what Dunkin' collects.
7 one-time charges — renewal, transfer, training
- Additional Training Fee$4,000Currently, $4,000 per person
- Training Cancellation Fee$1,000$1,000 per person if cancellation occurs 8-14 days before training $2,000 per person if cancellation occurs 7 days or less days before training
- Site design fee and kitchen layout design fee$750Currently, $1,200 for a PSL and $750 for a PKL, but may increase if our affiliates' costs increase
- Transfer Fee (Within First 3 Years of Operation)$12,500An amount based upon the Gross Sales of the Restaurant for the 12 months preceding the date of the contract of sale, plus $12,500 for a Dunkin' Restaurant or $20,000 for a Combo Restaurant
- Fixed Documentation Fee$2,000Currently, $2,000 per transferee
- Development Agreement Transfer Fee (majority interest)$10,000$10,000
- Reimbursement of costs incurred to test samples from additional supplier(s)$1,000Varies, typically between $1,000 to $10,000
Extracted by claude-opus-5 (extractor 0.6.0).
An earlier filing is held for Dunkin'. See what changed since then on the overview.